About Miami Magazine

Miami Magazine | About

First introduced in spring 1989, Miami magazine captures the people, pride, innovations, and experiences that make the University of Miami one of the nation’s most ambitious and respected institutions of higher education. Each issue ignites the inherent connection among ’Canes, tapping into the expertise of our scientists, scholars, artists, and pioneers to help us better understand each other and the world around us.


Reproduction of this publication in whole or in part without written permission is prohibited. For more information about permission to reproduce Miami magazine content, contact University Communications at  umcommunications@miami.edu.


Contact Miami magazine
University Communications
Newman Alumni Center
6200 San Amaro Drive, Suite 410
Coral Gables, FL 33146

Contact the University of Miami Alumni Association
Newman Alumni Center
6200 San Amaro Drive, Second Floor
Coral Gables, Florida 33146
305-284-2872 | 866-UMALUMS (862-5867)

Update your contact information: email alumni@miami.edu or call 305-284-2872 | 866-UMALUMS (862-5867)

Julio Frenk

Executive Vice President for University Operations and External Affairs and Chief of Staff to the President
Rudy Fernandez, M.B.A. ’10

Senior Vice President for Student Affairs and Alumni Engagement
Patricia A. Whitely, Ed.D. ’94

Senior Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations
Joshua M. Friedman

Vice President for University Communications
Jacqueline R. Menendez, A.B. ’83

Assistant Vice President, Communications
Charisse Lopez-Mason, M.A. ’06

Assistant Vice President, Communications and Public Relations
Peter E. Howard

Executive Director, Communications
Meredith Camel, M.F.A. ’12

Art Director
Tina Talavera

Assistant Director, Communications
Angie Villanueva, A.B. ’12, M.B.A. ’18

Director of Editorial Services
Michael R. Malone

University Editor
Maggie Cayon

Josh Baxt
Christy Cabrera Chirinos
Joy Elizabeth Cadman
Pamela Edward
Amy Ellis, B.S.C. 91
Barbara Gutierrez
Jenny Hudak, B.S.C. ’20, M.A. ’22
Robert C. Jones Jr.
Franco A. LaTona
Victoria Leal, B.S.C. ’23
Jordan Levin
Mike Montero, B.G.S. ’18
Janette Neuwahl Tannen
David Paula
Joshua Prezant
Matthew Rembold, B.S.C. ’21, M.A. ’23
Lorena Taboas, B.S.C. ’08